kaleab matiwos

Levels of BIM (BIM maturity levels)

According to the UK BIM Task Group (Bew and Richards, 2008), there are four BIM maturity levels.

Level Description
Level 0
  • Based on 2D CAD and the exchange of paper-based drawings.
Level 1
  • Partial 3D modeling of the facility (mostly for complex geometries) while most of the design is still realized by means of 2D drawings.
  • Data exchange is realized through sending and receiving individual files, and a central project platform is not employed.
Level 2
  • Defined by the use of BIM software products for authoring digital building models, however, each of the various disciplines involved develops its own model.
  • Their mutual consistency is ensured by periodic coordination sessions, where the individual sub-models are brought together and checked for clashes or other discrepancies.
Level 2
  • 2D drawings are mostly derived from BIM models.
  • Data exchange is still realized on the basis of files (in native formats), however, all files are managed on a central platform.
  • For handing over BIM models comprising both 3D geometry and semantics, open standards are not demanded on BIM Level 2. Instead, proprietary formats may be used.
Level 3
  • Based on the concept of a fully integrated BIM.
  • It is based on the implementation of BIG Open BIM, i.e. ISO standards are employed for data exchange and process descriptions, and deeply integrated digital models are used throughout the entire lifecycle.
  • Cloud services are used for managing project data so that data is continuously and consistently maintained over the building’s life cycle.